Homemade Qdoba

I found a recipe for the Queso sauce that is on the Queso burrito at Qdoba. Amazing. And, I know what’s going into this, so I feel much better pouring it over my burritos!! This recipe made a huge amount, so I think I’ll cut it at least in half next time I make it. But I’m thinking of using it for the sauce in my next pan of enchiladas. I’ll let you know how that goes. 

Queso Sauce

1 1/4 lb block of White American Cheese

1/4 cup diced green chiles

2 pickled jalapenos, chopped

1 oz pickled jalapeno juice

2/3 cup whole milk

1/2 cup cold water

Image

Toss all ingredients into a large microwave-safe bowl. Microwave on high for 5 minutes, stopping to stir after every minute. The mixture might seem watery during the first few stirs, but should come together as a nice runny dip after all the cheese is melted.

Serve immediately as a dip with tortilla chips or as a sauce over your favorite Mexican dish.

Image

A few adjustments I made were: 1) we didn’t have green chiles, so I left those out, and it was still super spicy and delicious! and 2) I did this in a pan over the stove, since we don’t have a microwave and because I think all things taste better on the stove.

So there you go! We barely got through half of that cup of the sauce, it is that rich! I do believe this will become a staple to our Mexican Fiesta nights. 

 

Leave a Reply

