BBQ Goodies

We went to a friend’s house this weekend for a BBQ and I made some delicious things, if I do say so myself. The couscous tabbouleh wasn’t quite a hit as the cheesecake filled strawberries, but still amazing. And this post also serves as a posting of a couscous recipe for my mom! Mother, you can substitute quinoa for the couscous, and it would be just as delicious. 

Couscous Tabbouleh

2 c couscous, cooked

1 large cucumber, diced

1 pint cherry tomatoes, quartered

1/2 c mint, finely chopped

2/3 cup parsley, finely chopped

2 cloves garlic, minced

1/4 c lemon juice

1/4 c olive oil

hot sauce, to taste

salt & pepper, to taste

 

Mix all ingredients well. 

And it’s just so darn pretty!!

Image

Next was the cheesecake filled strawberries. Also, very pretty.

Image

Cheesecake Strawberries

8 oz cream cheese

3 tbsp powdered sugar

1 tsp vanilla

1 lb strawberries, pitted

Graham Cracker crumbles

Beat first 3 ingredients in a small bowl. Fill strawberries with the mixture. Top with crumbles.

Image

I doubled the recipe, thinking I would use 2 lb of strawberries. But I had a TON of extra, as you can see in the green cup in the center. Easily could have filled 2 lb of strawberries with just 1 make of the cream cheese filling. But, we made do with dipping the left over graham crackers in the mix (: 

 

2 thoughts on “BBQ Goodies

  1. Yum! Thanks for giving me your tabbouleh recipe. So far I’ve only liked one recipe that I’ve made. The tabbouleh I’ve had in restaurants or from a deli have had way too much parsley in them…more like a parsley salad – Yuck! This one looks really delish! Can’t wait to try it with quinoa, too.

Leave a Reply

